Celebrating five years of inkcrush ~ enter my giveaway x Nomes

Tuesday, May 19, 2015

The Wrong Side of Right by Jenn Marie Thorne

Fans of Sarah Dessen and Huntley Fitzpatrick will enjoy this smart debut young adult novel, equal parts My Life Next Door and The Princess Diaries—plus a dash of Aaron Sorkin.

Kate Quinn’s mom died last year, leaving Kate parentless and reeling. So when the unexpected shows up in her living room, Kate must confront another reality she never thought possible—or thought of at all. Kate does have a father. He’s a powerful politician. And he’s running for U.S. President. Suddenly, Kate’s moving in with a family she never knew she had, joining a campaign in support of a man she hardly knows, and falling for a rebellious boy who may not have the purest motives. This is Kate’s new life. But who is Kate? When what she truly believes flies in the face of the campaign’s talking points, she must decide. Does she turn to the family she barely knows, the boy she knows but doesn’t necessarily trust, or face a third, even scarier option?

Set against a backdrop of politics, family, and first love, this is a story of personal responsibility, complicated romance, and trying to discover who you are even as everyone tells you who you should be.


I knew I was going to like this from the first chapter. Kate is so effortlessly likeable and the premise is captivating and fun. The grieving for her mum was so well depicted -- I loved that it had realness and depth but it did not make the entire book get swallowed up by a grief-ridden, depressive tone. In fact, the book was loads of fun while also having so many shades of emotion (from all the different plot-lines). 


I was liking this a lot. And then: Enter that rebellious boy that the blurb mentions. Suddenly, I can't put the book down. Because HOT and SWOON and FUN with MYSTERIOUS MOTIVES. 


You guys, it had been a while since I had been so swallowed up by a book that I got that-up-all-night-loving-it buzz and this book was my saviour.


The Wrong Side of Right is smart and funny and clever and full of emotional depth. The plot never lulled, the characters were complex, and the swoon was real. I loved it, so. Also, there was an awesome message embedded (without ever being didactic) about being yourself. 


I completely think you should bump this to the top of your TBR charts and then, once you've read it, you'll be hanging out for what's coming next from this debut writer. One of my favourite reads so far this year :)

The Wrong Side of Right @ goodreads


Thursday, May 7, 2015

Five years of inkcrush + giveaway

Whoo hoo! 

It's been 5 years since I started inkcrush. So much has changed in that time (online and in real life). So many great blogger and reader buddies have come (some have gone again) and I'm still making new friends (hi, everyone!).

I really want to thank everyone who has been a part of inkcrush (so thank you!). You really don't know what it means to me to know that people drop by and comment, or have a read and ghost away again. I am continually surprised to see someone has linked to me, or someone knows about me (and this little squidgy corner of mine on the internet) or has found a new fave read from following me. There have been quiet patches on this blog and I've contemplated farewelling this space but it is a testament to my buddies and the lovely authors out there that I am still here (and I am very glad that I have not abandoned my little blog).

In a challenge for myself, I've picked six books from each year of blogging that I have major love for to reminisce about the last five years of my reading life. Not necessarily my *absolute* fave books from that year but ones to highlight and recommend as books I have incredibly fond memories of reading (and I've tried to be a little diverse in terms of genres).

BTW, it was ridiculously hard just picking six, I am totally congratulating myself for sticking to that feat! :)

Top picks from 2010



Top Picks from 2011



Top Picks from 2012




Top Picks from 2013



Top Picks from 2014



Top picks so far for 2015


New series I've found and loved









Giveaway :) 
Giving just a tiny bit back to celebrate
GL & may the force be with you...


One winner ~ 
your choice of any book/preorder up to $25 AU* from The Book Depository or Fishpond** 
OR a $20 Amazon gift card

Give-away ends on May 25
Winner notified by email

* roughly $20 US /13 pounds UK
** Or, if an Aussie wins, can also choose from Booktopia, Bookworld, The Nile, or Ebay, haha :)